If you have a news tip send us an email at: tips@oregoncapitalinsider.com

ODOT appoints tolling committee

The 'Value Pricing Advisory Committee' will come up with recommendations for tolls on I-5 and I-205 in the Portland area.

JAMIE VALDEZ/PORTLAND TRIBUNE - (File photo) Gov. Kate Brown speaks at a ceremonial signing of a $5.3 billion transportation package at Portland Community College's Southeast campus in September.SALEM — The Oregon Department of Transportation announced the membership of a new advisory committee that will be responsible for recommending congestion-priced tolling options on Interstates 5 and 205 in the Portland region.

The proceeds of any tolls would go toward paying for congestion-busting road projects, according to legislation passed earlier this year.

Appointees to the 24-member value pricing advisory committee include people from the business community, environmental activists, public planning and transportation agencies, community justice organizations and local government. Three of the members represent the interests of Southwest Washington, whose residents would likely be subject to the tolls when they commute to Portland.

At least six meetings are planned, beginning Nov. 20 at ODOT's Portland office. The committee will accept public comment at each of those meetings.

A list of recommendations for tolls is scheduled to be presented to the Oregon Transportation Commission in late spring or summer of next year.

The tolling plan is part of a $5.3 billion transportation package Oregon legislators approved earlier this year.

The committee members are:

Marc Boldt, Clark County

Tony DeFalco, Verde

Craig Dirksen, Metro

Phil Ditzler, Federal Highway Administration (Ex Officio)

Marie Dodds, AAA Oregon

Chris Hagerbaumer, Oregon Environmental Council

Matt Hoffmann, Fred Meyer

Katrina Holland, Community Alliance of Tenants

Jana Jarvis, Oregon Trucking Association

Gerik Kransky, The Street Trust

Neil McFarlane, TriMet

McEnerny Ogle, City of Vancouver

Sean O'Hollaren, Oregon Transportation Commission

Curtis Robinhold, Port of Portland

Roy Rogers, Washington County

Dan Saltzman, City of Portland

Vivian Satterfield, OPAL

Paul Savas, Clackamas County

Alando Simpson, Oregon Transportation Commission

Kris Strickler, ex-officio, Washington Department of Transportation

Pam Treece, Westside Economic Alliance

Jessica Vega Pederson, Multnomah County

Elaine Wells, Ride Connection

Rian Windsheimer, Oregon Department of Transportation